In which she is alive after all

Wow, sorry guys – It’s been what – 3 weeks? I swear I didn’t meant to go completely off the radar, and no I haven’t died or anything.

I could do the whole spiel of, so busy, lots to do at work blahblahblah, and whilst all that is true, to be honest I don’t think I really need to justify why I’ve not been writing here. Who is actually interested in that anyway? Unless I come up with some super story about how I was kidnapped and then a rescue attempt by Pete aided by his friend Inigo Montoya who had his very own personal agenda of revenging his murdered father. Because that is totally what happened you guys!

Well no, I kid, but I am sure you are waiting with baited breath to hear of my escapades in the last few weeks, sit back and prepare to die (oops, no, princess bride again)

Basically, nothing much has been happening since last we spoke, which could help explain my lack of writing. I’ve woken up, gone to work, been super busy, gone back home, watched tv, fallen asleep, repeat etc. I guess the think we call everyday life. There has been bits and pieces of interesting tidbits thrown in for good measure though;

I got to see the solar eclipse earlier this month!

I am a bit of a space-geek so this I was totally up for. Lo and behold I then got booked in to chair a meeting exactly during prime time of the eclipse – not a happy bunny! Fear not – I inconvenienced everyone by rescheduling the meeting because I was “busy” (staring straight at the sun) and so people had to dial into my meeting over lunch instead. Sorry not sorry! I had cleared it with my boss and he was totally fine with this.

IMG_20150320_095111

I also went against everyone’s advice and actually looked straight at the sun during the eclipse. Like the rest of the people in my office who had not been clever and bought eclipse glasses. With the result that I spent the rest of the day having a sore eye and wondering if I may have made myself go blind and whether it was worth it. I still say it was, I love space-stuff! Did you guys see it?

We went to watch the Ireland – Scotland rugby match in Edinburgh

In short, the rugby was not all that great, last years excursion was much better, probably because I was in more of a party mood then. Although we had a really good time this time round as well, it just wasn’t quite the same. We still went to this awesome Mexican restaurant afterwards though and ate ourselves into a food coma. Again I was in bed by 10pm.

The next day I dragged everyone around The Royal Mile to my two favourite shops only to find they have both closed. Fail

I have also had the pleasure of spending almost a week off with the plague.

Also known as the common cold. Don’t tell Pete this but I think I get the man-flu way worse than he does. So I am just a moaning complaining sniffling wreck whenever I am off sick.

On the plus side I got to catch up on a LOT of TV and movies. I am all chick-flicked out and have gorged myself on romance dramas such as Outlander  – like I watched all the episodes in one day. All of them… , Poldark (oh. My. God AIDAN!!) Austenland, Pride and Prejudice, you name it. I feel a bit sorry for Pete because by the time the weekend came I think my expectations of romantic gestures was a bit warped with all this costume drama, and essentially there is no way Pete could live up to that and I was just grumpy from general staying inside for 5 days and cabin fever.. I mean.. take Poldark.. Rugged, Broody, not quite clean shaven, sweaty from working in the field – Cecilia is like… oooooh myy..

Aidanpg

Then Pete comes home, has maybe ran home so is in need of a shower (take note – apparently a sweaty torso is only a good thing on a hot summers day standing in a field wearing a cloth cap..) looking at me with his dark eyes and I guess brooding looks.. Cecilia is like “why are you looking at me like that – go for a shower, you are annoying me, and also please shave, your beard is itchy! WHY DID YOU NOT BRING ME FOOD???” To be fair I don’t think Pete is trying that hard, but even if he did I don’t think he would get quite the reaction that these period drama guys would get… this should probably be its own blogpost actually…

Ok, I will end the word-vomit – I promise I will try better at updating this blog-thing, there are some things coming up that I can try to squeeze some posts out of

So enough about me, what have you guys been up to? Are you still around? Judging by the 500+ unread posts on bloglovin I guess you still are? Anything exciting happening?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to In which she is alive after all

  1. Yay! Cecilia is back! This make Sarah very happy! I haven’t watched Poldark but I have had a thing for the dude who is in it ever since I watched Being Human, which by the way was an awesome series!

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    I also get man flu worse than Luke 😦 wish I had been there to witness the eclipse, I really really do! Glad you’ve not dropped off the planet totally (or gone blind) (or been abducted)

    Like

  3. Kerri says:

    You is back! That’s what I like to see!

    I got about a 5 second glimpse at the solar eclipse, then it was lost in the abyss of clouds. We’ve been watching quite a few TV shows lately, but none of the ones you’re watching haha. Although, I have seen Being Human, and I concur with Sarah that it is good 🙂 I have a strange feeling they made an America remake, which if I remember rightly, wasn’t so good… but they could also not have made this show at all and I’m thinking of another America remake of a another British TV show. I just checked, I think I right, the UK is better than the US, but I might not have finished watching the US one. I might see if they are on netflix!

    And now I’m ending my own word vomit.

    Like

    • haha They definitely have an american remake as I tried watching it and came to the same conclusion as you. It was not that good. The original one is though, although I only saw the first season if I remember correctly…

      Like

  4. Hurray! You’re back! I went against all of the advice as well and didn’t protect my eyes when staring at the eclipse, I had light spots in front of my eyes all day. Worth it! 😉 I have’t watched Poldark yet but have heard a lot of people say it is awesome, so I think I am going to have to give it a go! xx

    Like

  5. danniellek says:

    totally watched the eclipse, cloud cover and all, which was kinda good because then my eyes didn’t bleed. Whenever I’m sick all I do is set the iPad up on the bed and watch netflix and sleep and hate it when Adam comes around poking his head in. Just leave me alone and let me wallow in my sickness!

    Like

  6. Mimmi says:

    Welcome back! I hope you’ve recovered from the flu! Oh, I’m so excited for Outlander to come back, and Poldark sounds amazing. Must watch it.

    xx Mimmi, Muted Mornings

    Like

    • Thank you! I know – loved Outlander – I think amazon will put each episode on the day after they air now so I’ll be ablet o watch it pretty much when everyone else does. Such a good show! And yes – definitely watch Poldark! x

      Like

  7. bevchen says:

    YAY, you’re back!

    I missed the solar eclipse completely. Apparently my downstairs colleagues all went out to watch it with the glasses one girl had brought with her, but nobody told those of us who sit upstairs and we were all so busy that by the time we looked up from our computers it was over. FAIL!

    Like

    • oh no – nightmare – I would have been so grumpy! We had someone in the office who had been clever enough to order an extra pair of eclipse glasses so we all took turns in looking through them which was really cool 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

