In which the heroine of our tale talks a lot about nothing.

How is it already Friday? This week has seriously flown by, and it has been fairly busy and stressful at work as well as after, so I haven’t really had much time to sit down and write anything, never mind read or comment as much as I would like. Will try and catch up this weekend!

Therefore, I thought I would try to scramble a post together about other things I have done over the week and basically just ramble on. It’s a thing now!

First of all, one thing I looked at this week was my bank account. That was not fun. Christmas and Norway has taken its toll, but it’s manageable, and at least now I am aware! For me the hardest part is actually facing my fear and logging into the online bank to check my statement. This is something I really need to get over. I guess it’s called being a responsible adult, wonder if I will ever be one?

Last weekend I downloaded an app called Sleepcycle. The jist is you keep your phone on the bed whilst sleeping and the app monitors from your movements whether you are in a light sleep, deep sleep or awake. It then calculates when the best time to wake you up is, within a set time-frame that you have chosen. It also gives you lots of graphs such as your sleep quality, what impact things like stress, coffee, or exercise has on your sleep and other things.Screenshot_2015-01-30-09-37-05_1

I have to admit I was a bit sceptical to start with, but it seems to be working! This week I have managed to get out of bed in plenty of time to get to work, I haven’t felt the need to snooze at all, and therefore I have actually been in early to work 3 days out of 5 (meaning I could leave early.) The only time I have struggled was this morning, but according to my app last night I had the worst sleep quality out of all the nights I have tried. I am not surprised however about the irregularity of how light I sleep. Waking up 3 – 4 times a night is pretty much so common I do it in my sleep now.. (har har) This might explain why I always dream really random crazy dreams that I remember vividly. Maybe one day I will write a blog post about all the crazy stuff my mind makes up during sleep.

Have you guys heard of this app? Ever tried it? I am intrigued to see if this trend of waking up early with no issues will continue!

Last month I had bought and ad space over at Cider with Rosie. Sponsoring is something I actually never thought I would do when I started this blog, but I have to admit I really like it. Mainly because it helps keeping me motivated to actually put posts together, and also when reading the posts put together with all the sponsors I always find lots of lovely new blogs to follow myself! It also seems to have increased a bit of traffic and readers for me, so if you are new to this space and have found me via Rosie – hi and welcome!

Through one of these sponsor posts, although I can’t remember which one, I found myself in one of those surfing-vortexes and somehow ended up finding this blog belonging to Alexandra who has recently moved to Aberdeen. If you ever wondered what the Granite City of Aberdeen looks like, have a look at this post from December.Somehow she manages to make Aberdeen look like such a lovely place! Or maybe it actually is quite a lovely place, and I have just got used to it after living here for 13 years. Seeing familiar sites like this through someone else’s eye can be a real eye-opener sometimes, and again just reminds me that I need to spend some more time exploring the places nearby.

Tonight I am heading over to a friend’s house for some drinks before we are supposed to go out for dinner and more drinks. It’s her birthday today, so the plan is to celebrate her birthday and mine at the same time.

And so as is tradition I spent yesterday trawling the shops on the lookout for a suitable birthday gift, and just finding lots of things that I really want for myself. Isn’t that always the case? When you do have money to spend on yourself there never is anything nice in the shops but when you don’t have all of a sudden you just want ALL THE THINGS!

In the end I found these cute books in Waterstones, they are basically classics made into baby books, and are just too adorable. Who needs to read all of Pride & Prejudice when you can get the full story in 10 pages? (And the questions is – should I show these books to Kristen?) I ended up getting Sense and Sensibility and Jane Eyre, toyed with the idea of getting myself one, but left it at that. I’ll get her some kindle vouchers as well so she can get some more complicated books later on.

Finally, the best thing about today is that I booked myself some flight tickets to go and meet Sarah in April! Long weekend in England here I come!

Anyway, shall we leave it at that? What have you all been up to yourselves? Any plans for this weekend?

This entry was posted in Life, Rambling, Scotland and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to In which the heroine of our tale talks a lot about nothing.

  1. bevchen says:

    I saw those classic books for babies somehwere (an article about best first books for babies?) and now I want a child just I can buy them all!

    I have really vivid dreams as well, and some that feel so real I have a hard job convincing myself they weren’t after I wake up. Once, when Jan was away, I dreamt that I got up and went to start getting ready for the day. When I went to the bathroom I found a bald man sitting in the shower holding a knife. I then woke up just as he was about to stab me. Needless to say I was freaking out when I had to go and shower for real in the morning.

    Like

    • I have soooo many dreams where I keep dreaming that I wake up, get out of bed, get dressed, brush my teeth etc. They are so lifelike that when I wake up I am really confused because I think I have already done all that.
      Yeah I can imagine that’s pretty freaky!
      Usually when I dream I am always aware that I am dreaming though, so even if it’s a scary dream I just tell myself to calm down and see what happens.

      Like

  2. I downloaded the sleep cycle app, but never used it…hmm… i might give it a go tonight! x

    Like

    • Yeah you should give it a go and see what happens. I just find it fascinating comparing the sleep patterns between each night. And I’ve set my alarm-sound to random so I never know what I will wake up to.

      Like

  3. Yay for long weekends with Sarah, I hear she is awesome! 😉
    We should eat cake in Manchester, in fact I know of somewhere that does afternoon tea…
    I haven’t tried that sleep cycle thing although I keep meaning to because I hate getting up in the morning.

    Like

  4. facetfully says:

    Nothing wrong with a weekly post! Also a good way to recap the high spots of the week for yourself. Sort of like seeing where you live from a different perspective! Happy weekending to you!

    Like

  5. Holly says:

    Those baby classics sound like they would make a wonderful gift! I will definitely look into the sleep app – anything is worth a shot!

    Like

  6. I’m trying out some sponsoring this month and quite excited for it! Totally makes me motivated to blog more for sure. I have the sleep app and used to use it all the time – but sometimes it made me sleep less as I was getting stressed that if i moved it would know I was awake and especially if it has the sleep aid on.. too much thinking going on there! x

    Jasmin Charlotte | UK Lifestyle Blog

    Like

    • It’s definitely worth it I think 🙂 Aw that does sound a bit stressfull – I think I must sleep quite still, because I get notified that it hardly notices any movements now and then, but according to my mum I have always been lying very still in my sleep..

      Like

  7. I loved this little catch up! Your weekend plans sound lovely and the perfect way to wind down and enjoy yourself after a stressful week! Some weeks I feel like work sucks up my energy and my life source so much that I feel I have no time for anything else, so I can totally relate!

    I have sponsored Rosie with Cider in December (my first go at sponsoring!) and found it to be really positive 🙂 it’s lovely even just to find new blogs to read! And yay to new readers!

    I have also tried the Sleep cycle app and I really loved it. I found it really worked for me in a time in my life when I was at my wits end with how little sleep (and how poor quality sleep) I was getting! I don’t find I need it these days but it really helped me out of a pickle!

    So cook you have gotten a look of Aberdeen through someone else’s eyes! I find it really eye opening when I discover someone from Australia who blogs (it seems much less common over here) and I especially loved reading Sarah from Daydreams of Summertime insight with her recent visit to Oz!

    Anyway, sorry about the essay! Hope you have a wonderful weekend Cecilia!

    Carly xx

    Like

    • Yeah I do like reading blogs from nearby, or even expats blogging in Scandinavia because I like seeing how other people perceive the places I know. It can be a bit of an eye-opener sometimes! Hope you had a great weekend too! x

      Like

  8. Kerri says:

    Kris and I have been using a sleeping app for ages now! Since around September (possibly earlier) last year. I think we used one called ‘Sleep Bot’ and now we’re using an Android one (we just refer to it all the time as “Sleep Bot”.

    I really like the Sleep Bot, most of the time, it works well and always wakes me up at a good time. Strangely it always wakes me up at roughly the same time every day, ever if I go to sleep at normal times. It constantly tells I have a sleep deficit too, but I think that’s because I told it I like to sleep for 10 hours a night!

    Good luck with Sleep Bot!

    Like

    • hehe, I just find it fascinating with all the graphs and stuff it is giving me about how I sleep, and how there are obv.patterns that I have never been aware of. it didnt like me staying up until 2am on Friday though..

      Like

  9. Samantha says:

    I have heard of the sleepcycle app before but I wasn’t sure how it worked let alone if it actually did. It sounds pretty cool though so I think I will give it a try myself. Even though I am a bit nervous of leaving my phone on the bed!

    Like

  10. danniellek says:

    Adam tried that sleep cycle app, and since he works at a computer it told him he was napping for most of the afternoon haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

