What’s on my needles and in my ears?

Well I thought you would never ask!

I just discovered this Yarn Along and figured that I might try and join in for once!

So, what am I working on?

IMG_20141229_134501

Well, you may remember that when I was back in Norway I had this idea that I would focus on smaller projects this year and not sweaters, and then ended up buying lots of yarn for a sweater anyway? Darn those Norwegian traditional patterns!

My secret to knitting sweaters is that when possible, knit the arms before you knit the body. Then when you are finished with the body and are bored with the knitting you don’t have to slog through knitting two arms before you get to join everything together! It is a truth universally acknowledged that the yoke is the best part of the sweater to knit!

Ok, I may have made that up, but for me anyway the yoke usually means the end is in sight (yay you get to wear your sweater soon) and usually that’s where the patterns are, so the quicker you get there the better – and somehow it seems to get there quicker if you have knitted up the arms before the body.

IMG_20150107_192409

So at the moment, I am at this stage, I have two arms, and about a third of the body (not in photo) and it’s all stripes stripes, stripes at the moment. Eventually this sweater will look like this, except I can never get my hair to look that good. But apart from that it will be pre-tty much identical. Yup! Maybe when I have finished the sweater I should try to recreate this image – what do you think?

(Image source)

To go along with all this knitting, I am not actually reading much at the moment, but watching tv (bad bad habit – I know!) But, I am listening to an audiobook at the moment whilst on my way into work; – Me before you by JoJo Moyes.

It’s a chick lit book, I am sure lots of you have heard about it or even read it. I have to say – for being so hyped up, I don’t actually think it’s anything special, it’s ok I guess, but I am not dying to listen / read more and as such it is going a bit slow. I am thinking I should maybe start reading Little Women instead, based on yesterdays blogpost!

So that is what is on my needles at the moment. Notice how I deliberately decided to not focus on all the UFO’s (Un-finished objects) I currently also have on my needles that are stashed away in random places in my flat.

This entry was posted in Bookish, knitting, Norway, Scotland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What’s on my needles and in my ears?

  1. Loving that you are showing off your knitting! I wish I could STOP knitting small patterns and knit MORE larger projects!! I have just cast on a pair of slippers for Luke’s Mom’s birthday. I love your sweater pattern. I wish I had the mojo to cast on larger projects a little more!!

    Like

  2. Elise says:

    Ooh that design is gorgeous! And I think I was underwhelmed by that book too, annoyingly I can usually tell where these plots are going…

    Like

    • Yeah it’s a pretty obvious one where this is heading. Usually I don’t mind, but this time I am sitting listening to it and just thinking “get on with already” probably not what the author intended.

      Like

  3. Jessica says:

    It’s looking good so far! Can’t wait to see it finished. and yes, definitely pose just like her hahah 😉

    Jessica
    the.pyreflies.org

    Like

  4. Mimmi says:

    That’s such a pretty jumper! I can sort of knit, but I don’t think I’d be able to make a jumper. More so because I’m terribly impatient.

    xx Mimmi, Muted Mornings

    Like

  5. Kerri says:

    pfftt who needs fancy pants hair like that anyway?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

