Fast Food – Dagmar’s Sirapskakor

Sirapssnippae

Well, I might be a bit controversial when I call this food, as they are in fact biscuits and not really “dinner” as such but hey – it’s Christmas, and if you want to eat cookies for your tea, I am certainly not gonna stop you!

I whizzed up two batches of cookies this weekend for Christmas, and although one kind didnt turn out as planned, these certainly did, so I thought I would share the recipe with you all, because I am nice like that! The recipe is from my great aunt, and I guess you could call them crispy toffee-biscuits or something along those lines?

Here’s what you need:

  • 200 grams of butter
  • 1 Tablespoon of Syrup (like Lyle’s or something)
  • 200ml sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanillasugar
  • 300grams plain flour
  • 1 heaped teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

Add all ingredients in a bowl and mix together (this is really easy if you have a gadget, like a Kenwood or kitchen aid or something) and kneed together until it forms a dough / pastry.

Roll into lengths and place on a baking tray, flatten each length out with a fork. It doesn’t have to be pretty!

This then needs to bake for approx 10 minutes in an oven that is 200 degrees Celsius.

Once you remove from oven,  all you have left to do is cut the lengths diagonally and leave on a cooling rack until the biscuits have hardened slightly.

aaand enjoy!

And yes, for those who are wondering, my cookie tins are in the same pattern as my handmade sweater what can I say – I like to coordinate!

My question for today is – do you like cookies?

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fast Food – Dagmar’s Sirapskakor

  1. bevchen says:

    Yummmmmmmm!!!

    Do I like cookies? What kind of a silly question is that? 😉

    I also baked this weekend. My colleagues now get to enjoy white chocolate, cranberry and pistachio cookies. And another colleague brought in cake. And my breakfast this morning was Lebkuchen from the Nikolaus basket my boss provided for everyone. Sweet treats for every meal! 😉

    Like

  2. OOohhh… Maybe I’ll try to make these! I like the sounds of them! xx

    Like

  3. Kerri says:

    Oooo these are tasty looking biscuits!

    Like

  4. Yum totally cookie obsessed! And we are adults now, and the perks are you can now eat cookies for dinner 😀 x

    Jasmin Charlotte | UK Lifestyle Blog

    Like

  5. This look yummy. I am not going to lie though, the chances of my baking them are slim to none. I haven’t baked anything in like a year!

    Like

  6. I should for sure try to bake these – and then add them to my xmas baking list! Thanks!

    Like

  7. Pingback: 2014 in Review – September to December | cecilia in the rain

Leave a Reply

