Easy Peasy Lemon Quichy.. ahem

How good am I at coming up with new rhymes eh? Yeah I know, don’t quit my day job!

klassisk-pajdeg-grundrecept-716070

Well, today I thought I would share with you one of my favourite go to recipes – the quiche! All home made of course! Why is quiche so great you may ask – well let me tell you;

  1. Having mastered the basics you can fill it with just about everything you can imagine. This makes for a variety of tasty meals.
  2. If you, like me cannot manage a whole quiche in one sitting, it makes for excellent leftovers to take into work and reheat the next day!

Convinced? Well of course you are!

Here is my basic recipe;

For the pastry

300ml flour (I usually use a mixture of 200ml wholemeal to 100ml plain)

125g butter

About a tablespoon of water

Rub the flour and the butter together until you can form dough; add a bit of water to help the process.

Let the pastry rest for at least 30 minutes. I have also made the pastry in advance and stored it in the fridge the night before. It worked really well, but you may need to take the pastry out of the fridge a little while before rolling it out.

Roll the pastry out between two layers of Clingfilm until you can fill a whole pie / quiche dish. Pierce the pastry with a fork a couple of places, and pre-bake for about 10 minutes in an oven set at 200 degrees Celsius or thereabouts. I know a lot of people use fancy baking beans and stuff for this, but I never have these around, and to be honest I have never really noticed a massive difference – at the end of the day the quiche is going to be eaten fairly quickly and you are most likely not making this in the Great British Bake-off. I do tend to cover the sides with foil to stop them from burning or shrinking back though.

While the pastry is baking, start with your filling.

For the egg mixture you will need the following:

300ml milk

3 eggs

Salt and pepper to taste

Just mix it all together – easy peasy!

Now for the trickiest part – what will you fill your quiche with? Here there are endless opportunities! This week I went with fried pancetta cubes and broccoli that I had cut up into florets and cooked for about 10 minutes. Other sure-fire winners are for example chorizo with sun-dried tomatoes and feta cheese; salmon, prawns and dill; or even a taco version with seasoned mince and jalapeños with some nachos on the side!

Once the pastry shell has pre-baked, simply take it out, fill to the brim with your selected fillings and pour the egg-mixture over. Don’t forget to top with cheese, because cheese does make everything a little better!

Put back in the oven and cook for about 20-25 minutes, and then serve with a tasty salad, or a dash of seasoned creme fraiche! (Or just on it’s own, if you can’t be bothered with sides)

I am really sorry, I never actually took any pictures of my quiche this time, I was just too damn hungry, and I decided I would spare you the image of the half-eaten reheated leftovers from today – instead I have borrowed a photo from ICA which is a Swedish site that I have the base recipe from.

This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Easy Peasy Lemon Quichy.. ahem

  1. This sounds really good Cecilia. I’m looking forward to giving it a try x

    Like

  2. I love quiche. Especially with bacon in it… mmmm…… x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kristen says:

    this sounds so awesome… i’ll have to try it with gluten free flour 🙂

    Like

  4. Sounds so good! I love eating quiche but am terrified of making pastry – it looks so difficult! I usually just buy the frozen stuff 🙂 xx

    Jasmin Charlotte | UK Lifestyle Blog

    Like

    • You should give it a try – It’s always weird thinking that crumbly mess of flour and butter will transform into a pastry dough, but it just takes a bit of time and then all of a sudden it’s there! I’ve never tried the frozen stuff, but it’s probably just as good though!

      Like

  5. Holly says:

    Lovely rhyme! Hmm..trying to think what would go well in it. I am vege, which makes it harder, but I am thinking some kind of lemony salmon quiche?

    Like

  6. I can’t believe you didn’t take any photos! Shame on you!

    haha I kid! I do like quiche, but the bf hates it. He hates eggs, because he’s really weird. So I don’t think I have eaten quiche since our relationship began!. The only time I get a piece of quiche is when it’s on a buffet!

    Like

    • haha, if Pete doesnt like the things I make I just leave him to make his own dinner. But then again I run the risk of being stuck with like, a whole blueberry pie or something. (Not that I don’t manage to demolish it by myself or anything..)

      Like

Leave a Reply

