Off the needles – Stripes and Owls

Finally managed to sew in the buttons this afternoon so at last I can say myself finished with this one!

I won the yarn and the pattern in a competition on Facebook back in March, so it’s taken some time, but I’d say it was worth the wait!

Owls6

It has stripes, and it has owls, and it is in purple soย you couldn’t really go wrong with that could you?

I went on the hunt for buttons last week, and although I couldn’t find any with owls on them, I managed to stick to the woodland theme, and went for second best – stags!

Owls4

As I mentioned last week, it was also my first time steeking a garment, which was a bit nerve wrecking, but totally worth the effort. I’m particularly pleased with how the crochet reinforcement is still visible ย on the inside, I’m glad I decided to use the contrast colour for this.

Owls2

I’d used the same contrast colour to finish off the sleeves as well

Owls3

If there’s anything I might have done differently is to have chosen a slightly darker contrast colour for the owls, as this one doesn’t come across too well, however it’s not a big deal. I might have also gone up half a needlesize for the patterned area as it sits a bit tight across the shoulders just now, but wool has a tendency to ease out a bit with wear, so it should hopefully fix itself.

Owls1

Overall I’m rather chuffed with this one, and look forward to starting to wear it as it gets colder!

Owls5 copy

ย 

Now on to the next project – another cardigan!

This entry was posted in knitting, Off the needles. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Off the needles – Stripes and Owls

  1. This is absolutely flipping adorable!

    I have such a knitwear craving right now, every year I tell myself, this will be the Autumn I finally find THE jumper! If I had your skills I could probably satisfy that craving two times over!

    Stephie from Tea In Your Twenties xx

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I’ll let you in on a secret – once you learnt how to knit you will probably still keep looking for that one jumper! So many patterns so little time ๐Ÿ˜‰ and let’s not get started on socks!

      It’s definitely knitwear season!

      Like

  2. Holly Nelson says:

    Just beautiful!! Where did you get the pattern for it?

    Like

    • Thank you!
      This is a test-knit I got to do for a lady called pinneguri / the needle lady. I don’t think it’s available yet but its very similar to another pattern she has called ‘angry sheep cardigan’ on Ravelry which is also available in english. It’s a top down knit so hardly any assembly (apart from the steeking)

      Like

  3. Sarah says:

    Very pretty indeed. I do like those buttons – they are so cute!

    Like

  4. That is one lovely cardigan. I keep meaning to teach myself how to knit – I can crochet until the cows come home but knitting has never sunk in with me. one day, one day. Love the owl buttons.

    Like

  5. Oh wow, it’s gorgeous. I love the rich colours against the grey, I love the design, I love everything about it!

    Like

    • Wow thank you! I am pretty chuffed with it too! The yarn is lovely! It was nice before I soaked it as well, but after a soaking it has just “fluffed” out really nicely and got even softer! May or may not have bought some ore yarn for another cardigan.. ahem

      Like

  6. Rachel says:

    Sarah’s daydreams of summer brought me to your owls, I mean your cardigan, and I think that cardigan is the cutest! with those owls, you can never go wrong, and I love the buttons! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Oh thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I am rather fond of owls myself, in fact any type of woodland creature – all I need are some foxes on this and it would be perfection itself! lol

    Like

  8. Kerri says:

    Wow that’s pretty awesome! I love the colour choice ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks! I can’t take credit for the colour choice as it was a prize from a competition, so was picked for me, but it’s usually the type of colours I go with. I seem to be in a bit of a “purple” mood at the moment!

      Like

  9. caminioca says:

    Oh my gosh, I love this cardigan – it’s basically all my favourite colour! And owls are so in right now ๐Ÿ˜‰
    So tell me now, do you have an etsy shop where I can buy one of these? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • Lol nope sorry – I get far too attached to the things i make, especially if i have spent a lot of time on them.

      Yeah im a big fan of purple and turquoise too.. very ‘me’ colours this one ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

