Things I love – Macarons

Oh Macarons!

Macarons2

I know I am super late to get on this bandwagon, and in fact, the first time I tried a macaron I was decidedly underwhelmed. I thought they were overpriced and not that great!

Then I stumbled across Almondine, which is a macaron shop based in Aberdeen and I was completely sold! They may still be a bit pricey but they are so worth it!

Almondine (also, I re-use the bags and box for my smaller knitting projects – win-win!)
 

I was in over the weekend and got myself a treat (or actually 14 of them) – the idea was to get a few and share with Pete, but lo and behold, Pete doesn’t actually like macarons, so I got them all to myself! Worse things could have happened I thought to myself as I chomped down on 14 macarons  last Sunday afternoon whilst watching some BBC costume drama on Netflix.

macarons6

You never quite know what flavours are going to be available in the shop, and this time I went for a selection of all of them, minus the chocolate one, which I am not a fan of. So the selection I ended up with this time was; Raspberry, Pistachio, White Chocolate, Strawberries and Cream, Vanilla, Blackcurrant, Passion Fruit, Balsamico (yes is sounds weird, but it tasted delicious!) and Salted Caramel. All equally tasty, but my favourites are probably still Salted Caramel and Balsamico.

The shop actually has a Facebook page where you can suggest your own flavour combinations and they might end up making them. The one flavour I would really like to try is Raspberry with a liquorice filling; however I don’t know how popular that would be in this country where no one seems to enjoy liquorice?

macarons4Now I really want to knit a stripy top in lavender / lime / peach / and vanilla… go pastels!
 

What are your thoughts on macarons? Overpriced? Underrated? And what would your ideal flavour combination be?

This entry was posted in Food, Inspiration, Scotland, Things I love. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Things I love – Macarons

  1. Oooh they look lovely. I am going to buy some from Ladurée when I go down to London. They are so expensive, but so worth it! Such pretty colours!

    Like

  2. Toni Owers says:

    I adore macarons, they are a bit of a naughty addiction. I really must be brave someday and attempt to make them. 🙂

    Like

    • They are pretty awesome aren’t they!? I would love to try to make some too, but am a bit scared of what kitchen tantrums would ensue when inevitable do not come out of the often as nice as the store-bought ones!

      Like

  3. Claire Duffy says:

    I just can’t get into macaroons – Swedes are obsessed with them, but I’m always just disappointed that they’re not proper Scottish macaroon bars!

    Like

    • Claire Duffy says:

      Haha I posted this comment without realising that you’re Swedish! That explains it then, I can’t escape the bloody things in Stockholm! 😉

      Like

      • Haha yes you have a point it’s maybe genetically programmed that I like them. Ive seen them around in swedish blogs for years before i finally tried one!
        On the other hand I’ve never been a big fan of the Scottish macaroon, but maybe i have to try a few more!

        Like

  4. Holly Nelson says:

    You should knit yourself a macaron sweater!! I haven’t tried them 😦 I see them everywhere though. I am still imagining the cuteness of a sweater in those colours!

    Like

    • Yes! A macaroon sweater sounds like a good idea! or maybe something smaller, like mittens in a polkadot pattern in those colours! Just have to find the right yarn!

      You should definitely try them just to see what they are like. I think quality can vary slightly depending on where you get them though, as the first time I tried them I really wasnt that impressed…

      Like

  5. You know what, it pains me to admit that I am not the biggest fan of macaroons! I don’t know why or how because I am SUCH a food lover, but they just don’t do it for me.

    Like

  6. I love macaroons! We have Laudree in London which is pretty pricey but they are so yummy! My favourite are the chocolate ones! 🙂 xx
    http://michelleasousa.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

    Like

  7. sheninejoon says:

    I am in love with macarons! And your photos of these beauties are amazing!! New follower here 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

