Fast Food – Cauliflower and Parmesan Soup

Good Morning!

Well, summer is definitely over isn’t it? It’s properly chilly up here today, really gloomy outside and I don’t think the rain is very far off at all! I think a morning cup of tea is in order!

During the week Pete and I are busy after work on alternating days – I’ve got jogging on Tuesday and Thursday, and he has got Touch Rugby on Mondays and Wednesdays. So we have worked out that whoever isn’t out has the responsibility for preparing dinner that day. It usually works out. The key is planning and shopping in advance.

So yesterday I didn’t fancy making something very elaborate, as I am still home quite late in the evening, so I decided to go with a quick and Easy option. Cauliflower Soup.

Again, this recipe has got parmesan in it. Because I love parmesan. It goes with everything!

In hindsight I should have maybe called this blog “The Awesomeness of Parmesan” or “ParmesanisthegodofcheeseOKmaybebeatbygoatscheeseandbrowncheesebutstillinmytop3.com”

But I think that may have been a bit over the top.

Anyway, on to the recipe

Here is what you need

Ingredients

  • Cauliflower – Approx 250gr
  • Water – 500ml
  • Parmesan – as much as you want – technically my recipe says 100ml, but I usually throw in ALL THE PARMESAN

(ok not really, but a fair bit)

  • One small onion or half of a large onion
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 Chicken stock cube
  • Butter
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Parsley

If you’re fancy you can crisp up some Prosciutto slices in the oven and serve on top of the soup when it’s ready.

You will also need a blender

First, finely chop your onion and garlic and fry up for about 3-5 minutes in about a teaspoon of butter.

Add the water and stock cube and bring to the boil before adding the cauliflower

Leave this to boil for about 12 – 15 minutes until the Cauliflower is tender.

Next step is to use your blender (handheld one is probably easiest for this one) and blend to your hearts content.

Stir in your grated parmesan at the end, and sprinkle with seasoning and parsley

And Voila – your soup is ready to go!

Serve in your favourite bowl, with some crusty bread on the side. It maybe doesn’t look the prettiest, but I like it!

Soup

Do you have any quick and delicious soup recipes I should try? Or indeed other uses for parmesan?

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fast Food – Cauliflower and Parmesan Soup

  1. Sarah says:

    Looks so yummy, it has been so long since I have had caulifower soup! I might try this at the weekend, although knowing me I probabaly won’t get around to it! I want the moomin bowl…

    Like

  2. I love your post ! 🙂
    Follow me pls 😉
    cookandfashion.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. you should definitely try it – the most time consuming part is cutting up the cauliflower! I thought you had the bowl? Or is it just the mug you have?

    Like

  4. kristen says:

    mmm yum. this sounds like perfect easy comfort food recipe. i just love soup when its cold. i have never had cauliflower soup though. im not read for summer to be over though!

    Like

    • It’s definitely comfort food, and more of an autumn / winter dish than summer – perfect for rainy days!
      I would recommend leaving it for a few weeks if you’re not ready to let go of summer yet
      I don’t know if this is a fairly scandinavian thing? i remember being taught to make cauliflower soup in primary school in Norway and there are loads of recipes flying about. Haven’t really seen it anywhere else, but I might be wrong

      Like

Leave a Reply

