Fast Food – Homemade Pesto

If you’re anything like me, you will love pesto – who doesn’t? It goes with pretty much anything!

Rather than buying jars of the stuff, which then stays in the back of the fridge until I re-discover it months later, covered in mould, I have now started making my own from scratch whenever I need it. It is so easy to make, and takes hardly no time – all you need is a few base ingredients and you’re good to go!

I was given this “recipe” by an Italian colleague so I’d like to think it’s fairly authentic as well.

Here’s what you need;
Pesto1

  • Pine nuts – a handful, toast them first if you like
  • Garlic – a couple of cloves, or however much you fancy
  • Parmesan cheese – to taste
  • Fresh Basil leaves – a bunch
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil – couple of glugs
  • Salt and Pepper

Are you starting to see a pattern? It’s pretty much trial and error until you get the consistency and taste you like. I love parmesan, so I tend to overload on the stuff, but it still works well.

You could also try and add a few other things to the mix, depending on what you like and have available; leftover rocket salad, toasted walnuts, lemon zest, sundried tomatoes,  – just whatever you fancy! (If it doesn’t work, you will know for next time)
Pesto2

Throw everything in a blender, or if you are wanting it proper authentic, use a pestle and mortar to hand-blend the pesto. I have never tried this, as I am too lazy, but it probably makes it taste even better.

Blend for a few minutes and hey presto! Fresh pesto for your dinner!

Pesto3
I just had this with wholegrain pasta this time, but I can imagine this works well with anything you would normally put pesto on.

If you try this, do let me know what you think, and whether you added any other ingredients!

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fast Food – Homemade Pesto

  1. dimshum says:

    yum! I’ve always bought pesto but since I’m getting a blender soon, this will be one of the first things I try out. thanks for the recipe! 😀

    http://www.dimshum.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

